Old 01-25-2010, 12:55 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
Currently Looking...
Ottawa , Ontario
Hello from Ontario!

Hi everyone!

I am new to AS and am just fascinated! Have thought about getting one in the future, to live in potentially full-time before i purchase my first home. (beats paying rent every month) I have some concerns when it comes to Ontario weather though, as i'm sure a lot of you know we get both extremes, so, -30 C in the winter and +30 in the summer. So far from reading this forum, it seems like winter airstreaming is quite difficult for most. especially in the temps that we get up here! i'm guessing even if it DID work out alright i'd be spending a ton on propane, as there seem to be no other options? anyone in Ontario have a success story to share? lol!

another thing i wanted to ask is this- i've heard talk of solar panels on RV's and i'm just wondering what exactly it is they do? i know they keep the battery fully charged at all times, but what does this mean?! does this mean you don't have to use hook ups for electricity? what about heating? propane? i'm sorry if this question is completely stupid, i'm new to all this!

thanks so much for the help! and for this awesome forum!

shannabanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:25 AM   #2

Vintage Kin Owner
1973 Avion Travelcader 25' , ...
Welcome Shannon,

There are many members from Canada and the Northern US who can share their experiences with the climates you're referring to.

In the mean time...Welcome again and good luck,

"You wouldn't worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do."

Eleanor Roosevelt

Kevin245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:39 AM   #3
Rivet Master
2005 28' International CCD
Ottawa , Ontario
Hi Shannon - welcome to the forums!

There's lots and lots of info here, and everyone is willing to lend a helping hand.