Old 01-20-2006, 12:02 PM   #1
Pearl River , Louisiana
Happy New Member Year Avion Owner

Well. Katrina really did me in living on the water. , so I got on Ebay and won a 34 foot 1985 Avion that I love. The previos owners were anxious to get back to FL because of the hurricaine and I got a one hour primer on trailers 101. Iwas going to get one anyway. Now I need to figure out how to get heat. The heater kicks on automatically but noheat comes out. I'll make sure I have enough propane. Is there a pilot light on these things to fire off. I don't see one when I take the panel off. Just don't want to blow the trailer up...

Lacombe, LA

Docgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:16 PM   #2
The Hawk's Lair
1985 34.5' Airstream 345
BACK WOODS , Minnesota

I am no expert on furnaces, however here is what I do know. Can you hear igniters clicking? You should and if you don't, I would suspect the electronic control is faulty. Needs to be replaced.
If you do hear the clicking then there is a sail switch internal. There has to be a certain amount of airflow to push it over and allow the furnace to light. Often times insects and birds ect. get in there and build nests or whatever that restrict airflow. Needs to be cleaned out for the sail switch to open.
Anything else and I would take it to a dealer.

There is no "I" in the word "team," but there are four in "Platitude Quoting Idiot!"

cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:23 PM   #3
Just an old timer...

Tipton , Iowa