Old 05-20-2009, 10:40 AM   #1
1981 22' International
Cornelius , Oregon
Great Friendly Community & I' am Newbie

Newbie here and want to say this is a great site with a friendly community. I love camping in my trailer as much as possible , I ' am disabled and have had a rough start since the beginning. First the guy who sold me my Airstream lied about its condition " It leaked, and since he stored it inside it did not show the leaks". The the place I took it in to be repaired , did the old bait and switch on me and jacked up the repair cost 3 times after he started the repairs and his first quote. So it's been rough but it has not discouraged me, and I have filed complaints with BBB and the State District attorney about the shops unethical billing charges.
I had no idea there was so many dishonest people that would take advantage of a disabled person. I got an education quickly abd I won't be so stupid next time , hopefully everyone on this site will be able to guide me honestly so I won't get taken advantage of anymore.
Thanks for the quick responses and honest answers looking forward to better times and lots of camping.

darr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 12:09 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Great Friendly Community & I' am Newbie

Greetings D. W.!

Welcome to the Forums!

Sorry to learn of your problems with the repair shop. The unfortunate truth is that there are many unscrupulous RV repair shops out there, but there are many fine ones as well -- it is just the difficulty of trying to sort out the good ones. Good luck with your complaints -- I know that its frustrating, but it is one of those things that nearly all of us have experienced.