Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-24-2011, 12:00 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 31' Sovereign
rodanthe , North Carolina
Unhappy Flood repairs

I was flooded in Irene and have to take the bottom off to replace insulation. I've been reading the posts but it still is a lot of gibberish to my ears..I have no experience with any of it and don't understand what seems basic to the posters. What is a banana wrap? or outriggers? There seems to be a difference in rivets. Maybe in rivet tools. Is there an idiot's guide or maybe some good experienced soul planning to come to Cape Hatteras? I was living in my old Sovereign and while I have a place donated to stay for a couple of months, I absolutely need to make the repairs to my baked potato home. I'm afraid of starting half-cocked and ending up with a pile of useless aluminum.
Thank you.
catherine
fridder13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 01:47 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Flood repairs

Greetings Catherine!

Welcome to the Forums!

Sorry to hear about your flood damage. I know how frustrating repairing flood damage to my bungalow was, and understand what you are going through with making similar repairs to your Airstream.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fridder13 View Post
What is a banana wrap?
Banana Wrap is the exterior aluminum sheet that runs from the base of your exterior walls and curves around the bottom of the wall and joins the aluminum covering the bottom of your Airstream's frame.

The photo above shows the banana wrap on the base of PizzaChop's coach. The panel on the ground is the belly pan that also attaches to the banana wrap.

Quote:
or outriggers?