Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-22-2009, 09:43 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
gainesville , Florida
First post...some questions

I'm in the market for my first AS. I've been reading all the valuable information on this site for months and learning as much as I can before making the purchase. I owned a small Coleman PU for years, and before that I did a lot of tent camping. I'm tired of motels, erecting pop-ups, sleeping on the cold, hard ground, camping in all types of inclement weather... and looking at all those cheap trailers on RV lots. I am finally going to fulfill my long-time dream of owning an Airstream.

I'm a large format landscape photographer and teacher. I travel constantly, chasing the light. I can be found in Utah's Canyonlands or Arches NP in the middle of winter, the Everglades and Keys in the summer or high up in the San Juans in the Fall. It's usually just myself, for several weeks/months at a time, camping (or boondocking, as you folks call it here) in remote un-improved sites, state or national parks or anywhere I can set up to be close to the action when the light is good.

I've narrowed it down to either a new 19' Bambi or Sport 17'. The smaller, lighter, less expensive Sport 17' and Bambi 19' models appeal to me over the larger AS models. I'd love a Flying Cloud 20' or 23', but the cost is more than I can handle and I think the size would limit my access to many areas. So, smaller, lighter and less expensive is better. I like the separate rear corner bed and front dinette/lounge layout on the Bambi, but I can live with the combined front bed/lounge/dinette layout of the Sport, particularly considering the size, weight and price differences. However I do have some specific questions regarding several specific features of both units before making a final choice.