Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-29-2012, 09:35 AM   #1
TWells

2006 22' International CCD
Waddell , Arizona
Finally own an airstream!

So excited to join the airstream community. I found my airstream on line at this site on the classified stream. Flew from Seattle to Pennsylvania to pick it up and check it out. Bought a towing car. Had the hitch installed etc. now on my way to Arizona with Airstream in tow. All very exciting and wonderful. The airstream I purchased is an international 22 foot CCD 2006. Immaculate condition.

I've been camping for 17 years in a Volkswagen camper van and it's been great fun. But this will definitely be a step up. Just hope I can figure out how to do it all without my husband as I camp a lot more than he does and we are still ten years from retirement.

Our tow vehicle is a 2010 Mercedes suv. ML 350. It definitely was a pain to get the tow hitch installed and the brake controller installed. Also had a problem getting the led light stem on the trailer to work because the Mercedes digital system requires a load to register before it will send a signal out to activate the lights and the led lights don't have a load so they don't provide that nessesary component to the system.
We solved this problem by switching out two of the tail lights to regular light bulb taillights. Another fix would be to order a part VW called a VW LED trailer adapter. Part number zvw 808 004

It was all quite complicated and expensive and frustrating but it finally all pulled together in the end to have a working system. Hurrah!!