Old 02-06-2012, 06:37 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
Vintage Kin Owner
Portland , Oregon
Everybody's Got a Story; Here's Mine

Over the last ten years, I've come up with many reasons to justify getting a 60s -70s era Airstream.

I finally think I found one that's going to stick. Here's my scheme:

I'm a high school art teacher and I own a house with my boyfriend and daughter in Portland, OR. This year I took a great job an hour south of Portland in Silverton. Now, we love our house in Portland and we love Portland as a city and it's definitely not a good time to sell. But I am not about to drive two hours (if I'm lucky) a day, either. So for this school year my daughter and I rented a tiny house in Silverton, where we spend our weekdays, and then we go back up to our house in Portland on the weekends. It's okay, but two houses, two yards, two sets of utilities... boo. Not great.

So my brilliant idea is to buy an Airstream at the beginning of the summer, give up my rental in Silverton, and have the coach reasonably ready to live in by the time school starts in the fall. My parents, who are handy, cheerful, and have a house on a double lot about 10 minutes away from my house in Portland, a house with a sewer hookup no less, are happy to host the trailer during the summers, and help me out with some of the fixing. They also have tow vehicles. I'm quite handy, too, but at 120lbs, a little brawn goes a long way...

There's a nice camp site in Silverton that has a good monthly rate, laundry, wifi, all that jazz, that's about five minutes from my work. So things are pretty simple at that end.

So now I'm doing some shopping, aiming to purchase in April or May. I'm looking for a mid-60s-late-70s coach, preferably 24'-26' but 30' would be okay. Airstream is of course ideal but I hope it's not anathema to say I'd be happy with a Silverstreak or Avion, too.