Old 06-17-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2013 28' Flying Cloud
Cohasset , Massachusetts
Discouraged

Hi Folks,
1st post: We've been looking into TTs for a while, went to a few shows and discovered AS, recently found this forum.
After spending the weekend browsing here(doing due diligence)we're feeling quite discouraged about getting an Airstream.
Although there really doesn't seem to be much competition, we're getting the feeling that AS TTs are a lot of trouble.
I'm mechanically skilled(as a retired builder I do much of our maintenance and repair) but I really don't want to spend all my time addressing a series of problems, especially on the road.
Do "Streamers" get to enjoy RVing?
Any advice as we proceed would be appreciated.
Thanks,
callmeDave

Old 06-17-2013, 10:06 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Dave, it all depends. All toys require maintenance. Perhaps you've already had experience with a boat or four wheeling or classic hot rods, and so forth.

If your wife hires a handyman because you hate tinkering around the house - then you'll hate RV'ing whether it' an Airstream or SOB. If you enjoy tinkering and have the money to have someone else do the big stuff... opposite answer.

Assess Yourself. Assess your spouse's "dream vacation". Assess 2 weeks in the rain with children who have no idea how to entertain themselves without TV (and your batteries are low on the RV). In addition, I strongly urge you to rent an RV and go on a trip for at least 5 days. It is not cheap, but it's a heck of a lot cheaper than having a piece of $60K yard art that you know you'll never tow again. Also sit with your kids and play Chinese Checkers, pickup stix, or some other board games - if your kids like these activities - then the time you spend burning marshmallows areound a campfire will be a good positive indicator for moving forward.