Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
New York , New York
Danish Designer - AirStream RV

Boy am I glad to find this site, thank you guys for sharing all your experiences with these lovely trailers and RV's.

I'm a Danish designer with studios in Denmark Copenhagen and in New York, I'm based in New York since January 2011, I'm spending my time 50/50 on architecture doing residential projects and designing furniture.

After I had been living in the US for only a few month I started thinking about a "con-amour" project which I could dedicate some time to which had one criterial it should be something very American which I could add something interesting to design wise. As you might now have guessed I feel in love with the Airstream, but mostly I fell in love with the different RV's - maybe because they seem a little more rare than the trailers (I never new about them before I came to live here) -but mainly the reason for this is that in Scandinavian we have tons of trailers (not as nice as yours) but very few motorhomes, and I love the holistic approach that you settle up in your home and drive away for adventure.

So my concept is simple it will be the classic AirStream RV on the outside - a silver bullet - restored down to the bolts... immaculate! - but with a minimalistic interpretation of how a Danish, Swedish, Norwegian or Finish family would live, this will hopefully result in a version that has both different interior and materials than what we have seen so fare.

I'm in the initial research phase, which currently has me looking for a 1981 Airstream Excella 28' Turbo Diesel Motorhome, but I'm certainly open to other suggestions since my knowledge to these beauties are some what limited. And there might be strong arguments for choosing another model?