Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-06-2009, 08:25 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Washington , Washington, D.C.
Cool Buying an Airstream

Hello Everybody,

First I have to say I love airstreams. There is just something classic and original about them. I have decided to move from my apartment, and live in an airstream somewhere in the mountains, working at a ski resort.

I have no knowledge about buying an airstream. I don't know what to look for, or how to find a deal.

Also I don't have much money. So I want to buy a "project" airstream and restore it. I don't need it to be perfect. I just want a running shower and kitchen.

I was also thinking about making it green, installing solar panels for electricity, bamboo floors, compost pile.

So if anyone can give me links to information on any of those subjects, or any hints to begin with. Also Can anyone give me an idea of how much it would cost to restore an airstream. I was thinking of an airstream from 1965-75 under 25 ft. I want to do it the cheapest possible way, but not shortcutting anything vital.
Undrwaterair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:10 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Leawood , Kansas
I am also looking to buy my first Airstream and have found this forum to be very helpful;I suggest your read this forum daily. No expert, but if you're going to live in the trailer near a ski resort I would add a workable furnace to kitchen and shower as must haves.
flyfishsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 11:52 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1993 34' Limited
Melbourne Florida , Springfield Ohio
Hello from Ohio & Florida - welcome to the forum. You will find much information here. Best of success in your search.
willyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:28 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1984 31' Sovereign
Andover , Kansas