Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-10-2007, 02:49 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Wellington , Nevada
Another newbee-out west! Looking for advise and a older trailer!

OK, I am new to the Airstream gig but not forums. However I need to find a way to fix my signature?

In any case I am a mopar guy whos not new to towing or hauling but am new to the Airstream search for the right PROJECT trailer. I live in Northern Nevada, close to Lake Tahoe,where I see a LOTS of silver trailers in large properties and yards. I need to start stopping and see which one are Aistreams. It looks like some $$$ plopped down in the right hands would pick me up something because some of these trailers have not moved in many many years buy the looks of them and are just rotting away.

I will be looking for a project out west and dont care if its gutted. I work on my Hot rod mopars on the side and do my own paint and body work and some fabrication. I can also build homes/shops, so I can handle most of thw work inside as well. I will be looking for an Airstream that needs some loving and will more than likely update the interior to be 'HOTRODESQUE" if that makes sense!

Something at least 27 to 28 feet, maybe a little bigger. I have watched these things for years and am retiring this year from the Sheriff's office and may be going to work just over the state line for another 5 years in California for a second check with another agency and some double dipping.

However I have 175 acres in Idaho and travel there often and set up house near my pond. I need a trailer with some character, not some square box in white with the latest crummy decals that will peel off in a year or two.