Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2018, 03:48 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2019 19' Flying Cloud
Renville , Minnesota
About to become an Airstream Owner

After searching and studying for three years; I am to pick up a new Flying Cloud 19CB on Tuesday. I am looking forward to the features provided by the new rig; but not looking forward to dealing with teething problems associated with anything new.
Old 07-22-2018, 06:09 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Hello from Colorado from a former Minnesotan. Congratulations on your new Airstream. I think you will enjoy it very much. You can visit every public access lake in Minnesota. That will keep you busy for a while.

I've been to the Airstream factory in Jackson Center, Ohio. I worked in manufacturing my whole career. Airstreams are generally hand built by humans. I saw many conscience people working hard on my tour. My manufacturing career made me acutely aware there will be errors and escapes from a manufacturing process. I've been driving a car for 55 years and I still accidentally leave the lights on and run the battery down, if you know what I mean. Airstreams are a very well designed and built travel trailer. Yours will last you a very long time. Ours is 33 years old with about 20 years of that spent in Battle Lake, MN, where my wife's folks lived.

That said, be ready to "work the bugs out" of your new Airstream. Many folks spend a night or two in the dealer's parking lot learning about the new trailer and making a punch list of items that may need "adjustment". I believe Airstream will take care of you.