Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-06-2017, 10:20 AM   #1
wrs
1 Rivet Member

2005 30' Classic
Lindsay , Ontario
2005 30' Classic Owner wants advice on Black Water Tank Issue

Hi all. I'm an Ontario Canada resident new to the Forum, original owner of a 2005 30' Classic with a black water tank valve issue. The valve handle movement has always been extremely stiff no matter what products I used. One bad outcome: the valve handle broke 8 years ago and was then welded back on with an additional rigid elbow for added strength. That worked until recently (still with a very stiff movement) when the handle suddenly would not retract completely, leaving the tank partly open. I have flushed the tank repeatedly with hot soapy water without success. I have limited skills and am considering having the entire black water tank (and valve) replaced by an Airstream outlet. Two questions: (1) what is that likely to cost? .. and ..(2) should I pursue a different option? I'll appreciate all thoughts on this.

Ross
wrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 10:47 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2004 28' Classic
Monument , Colorado
I have a 2004 Classic 28 that has the same tanks as yours. I just fixed the exact same problem last month. On my AS, the black valve was very hard to operate since I purchased it two years ago. Turns out someone had replaced the valve and over-torqued the housing screws which hold it to the tank. This deformed and cracked the valve housing making it hard to operate. The best thing to do is replace it. Your post sounds like you are not inclined to do it yourself. Any RV dealer could do it for you.