Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-09-2017, 09:41 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Coarsegold , California
1986 345 MH questions

Hi: I am new to this so please bear with me. I just bought a nice (I think) 1986 345 w/ 73000 miles. I bought it sight unseen on Ebay and have a lot of questions. . I would like any and all input about the 345. Mainly right now I would like to know about the basic maintenance items I should check before I drive it 800 miles. The story is that it is ready to go, everything in top shape, but you all know that is probably not the case. I am reasonably capable of most mechanical things and have been around various vehicles all my life. I know what to look for in the generic sense but need to know about the 345 specifically. Like the air bags on the tag axle, etc. What sort of gas mileage would be considered normal? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance and I LOve this MH already and I haven't even seen it.
Mr Sunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 11:00 PM   #2
Keen amature

1975 20' Argosy 20
Chestfield , Kent
Hi Mr Sunshine, welcome to the forums.

This is a great to part of the forum to place an introductory thread, but you may want to ask questions on the model specific sections, particularly in the case of the motorhomes, as the majority of active members only look in the section applicable to them (the overall forum is just too large and has too many posts).

So I suggest to start here (http://www.airforums.com/forums/f311/) and review the many posts on things to check before trying to drive a new MH home.
martin300662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 02:05 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1984 27' Airstream 270