Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1965 - 1969 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-21-2008, 07:57 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Owings Mills , MD
The budget

I received a very nice PM from a forum member who suggested I keep and post a budget on the restoration of the '67 Overlander. While this would normally be a very good suggestion, I'm not sure I'm the ideal person to serve as an example of the restoration costs. Why?

1. I'm not a professional, or even a semi-professional. I'm probably somewhere in the 3/16" professional range. I know a little bit about most of the trades (electrical, plumbing, carpentry, etc.). This said, I make my share of mistakes in cutting, bending, trimming, breaking, snapping, dropping and scraping. A more talented craftsman is likely to make fewer mistakes and use fewer materials.

2. I'm a chronic over-builder. I'm wrapping up the micro-shop. Green board on the wall? Heck, no... let's do 1/2" plywood. Need a bench, let's build the top and under shelf from two layers of 3/4" plywood and 2x6 underpinning. Hey, what if I need to set a long-block Chevy on the bench? How about using that old box of drywall screws on the walls? No way, let's buy the coated, bullet-proof deck screws at $8 a small, $24 per large. Grade 8 bolts... I'm sure I can find a reason to use Grade 12. During the restoration of the Overlander, I'm going to have many opportunities to save a dollar here and there... and I'm sure to squander most of them.