Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1965 - 1969 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-21-2012, 07:47 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Full-Timing , All states!
Here goes nothing! Our first Airstream: '65 Overlander Int'l

Hi! I'm Kristin and I'm new to Air Forums thanks to the new addition to our family as of this past Saturday. My husband Jason and I have a (borderline unhealthy) addiction to rescuing both animals and cool old things that need some love and restoration. We have four rescued dogs who are our children, and are nearing the end of our first year of marriage and the simultaneous near-completion of a year-long renovation of our 1920 craftsman home in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Being that our marriage has not only survived but thrived during our various insane home improvement projects (a complete bathroom gut job, complete kitchen gut, plumbing and electrical hell, stripping 100 years of paint from woodwork, stripping and refinishing 100 year old pine floors) we took the plunge this past weekend into Airstream ownership after finding one that seems to suit us perfectly on Craigslist. Enter our 1965 26' Overlander International.

The sellers were a camping enthusiast couple who bought it three years ago to restore but just had too many other projects going on. Despite having already carefully gutted most of it, they decided to pass her on to someone with more time. We "adopted" her for a reasonable $3500 and were given not only the original paperwork for the trailer (title, owner's manual, warranty certificate, appliance manuals, and handwritten notes and "tips" from past owners) but all the cabinets and parts that had been removed came home with us too.