Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-19-2013, 06:59 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
What is normal bend or sag of a 34' frame

I am looking at a mid 1990's three axle Excella. Since I have no personal experience with any 34' Airstream, I am asking for your help to tell me what is normal.

When the trailer is on it's wheels and hitch jack only (no stabilizers or jack stands) there is a warp in the skin around the wheel wells. It looks like the frame is crowned just above the axles. If I had to guess I would say the crown is 1" or so higher than either end of the trailer, with more slope toward the rear. The worst place in the warped skin is just behind where the rear of the wheel well ends at the belly wrap. The warp skin extends above the top of the wheel well maybe 6" to 8". It is a little less noticeable on the front end of the wheel well, but extends the entire perimeter of the wheel well. The warping is not evident anywhere else higher on the trailer. This warped skin is almost identical on both sides of the trailer.

I do not have any pictures to share.

So, these are my questions:

1. Does a 34' Airstream have some normal bending of the frame that creates a crown above the axles when it is parked without stabilizers?

2. Has anyone had any experience with cracked frames on your 1996 through 1999 wide body three axel Airstream?

3. Has anyone had any experience with rear end separation on your 1996 through 1999 wide body three axel Airstream?

4. Does the normal construction of your three axle Airstream have warped skin at the perimeter of the wheel wells?

Thank you. I appreciate your responses!

edit: