Old 12-17-2015, 10:59 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Orlando , Florida
What I learned gutting my AS

Hi Folks:

Newbie here.

I pulled the Hotel home three weeks ago and backed it into my backyard.

Purchase Condition:
- It was full of junk, and badly molded.
- All doors and latches were included.
- No propane tanks.
- Original appliances were included, Sans inverter.

My workflow thus far:

1) removed all junk, kept anything that appeared AS related.
2) began disassembling the interior - all of it. It's like a puzzle so take your time and drill out the rivets! I trashed all of the bathroom too.
3) I carefully removed the upper cabinets so that I could re-install them.
4) I removed all the copper / Pex plumbing and trashed it.
5) All the appliances I trashed.
6) I lubricated every bolt I could find with a penetrating solvent, multiple times.
7) I did a "quick de-funk" with a bucket of clorox water and a push broom as the interior skins were disgusting.
8) After I got all the interior cabinetry out, I drilled out all the interior skins rivets.
9) I have an old digital camera and took hundreds of pictures.
10) I wore a mask, clear goggles, and tried to work methodically.
11) I then I then removed the interior formed plastic ends, very carefully. At the last minute the front one dropped and crashed to the ground - lucky for me it did not break!