Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-21-2015, 01:45 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1967 26' Overlander
Encinitas , California
Walls moved!

Hello everyone!
I'm new here. I follow a lot of threads but this is my first time writing.
First of all, I bought an Overlander 67 a few months ago. And like a lot of other older Airstreams, the floor had some rotten places. After a lot of work, and thanks to all the info on this website, I installed a new sub floor.
Now, this is where it got tricky. I'm trying to screw and bold down the "c" channel to the sub floor, but the walls have moved towards the outside.
Do you guys know what could be happening? What should I do?
I made a little diagram so that you can understand my problem better.

Thanks!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Diagram 1.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	629.2 KB
ID:	241211
sipaez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 11:53 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Welcome to the form. I'm no expert, seems to me that the weight of the shell is pushing the walls out since the c channel is not bolted down. I might try and counter act the downward force by lifting the shell above the spot that's sticking out. Just throwing out an idea.
Paul

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
buddy24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 12:23 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
There was tension in the shell of the trailer even when it was new, and over the years things have settled, moved, etc.

You need to come up with a plan where you can push everything into shape as you reassemble.

It will go back, you just need a good plan of attack.