Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-10-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 26' Overlander
Austin , Texas
Sub-Floor with Belly Pan and Shell On

First, after months of lurking on Airstream Forums I must compliment all who make this tremendous resource possible. I'm brand new to the Airstream world and am amazed by the abundance of well-organized information. Props up!

Just rescued a 1966 Overlander from a goat field. Circumstances demand that I install a new sub-floor without removing the belly pan and with the shell on. What's the best strategy for securing the plywood? Pre-drilled holes with self-tapping metal screws?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream gutted.jpg
Views:	1635
Size:	43.0 KB
ID:	102281  
Llano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:00 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Currently Looking...
Jupiter , Florida
I've got to withhold comment about the flooring - but I will say you have a once in a lifetime chance to pressure-wash the interior spaces now...
Old 05-11-2010, 07:56 AM   #3
Mouse Nest Hunter

1961 28' Ambassador
Sherburne , New York
Shell on is possible, but I think you need to take the belly pan off. There are bolts holding the floor / c-channel / frame together at the outriggers. Also, the elevator bolts that hold the floor to the frame through the cross members add a lot of strength. I wouldn't want to have just screws holding my trailer together.

You're so far along, it's just a matter of drilling out the rivets that hold the belly pan to the sides and frame. It's not that hard, and in the end you'll have access to the entire frame to paint it and make it better than new. Don't scrimp now.

Besides, restoring these things is fun. Don't cheat yourself.
Old 05-11-2010, 08:14 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1957 22' Caravanner
Port Hadlock , Washington