Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2005, 05:52 PM   #1
Addicted to Aluminum

1959 18' "Footer"
1964 24' Tradewind
1954 29' Liner
Woodstock , Georgia
STEP-BY-STEP Shell-Off Floor Replacement

ok guys. first and foremost, i am NO EXPERT! in fact, this '59 traveller is my first trailer! my grandparents used to always take me out for the summer in theirs, and i knew i had to get one. i've always wanted to restore something cool, so here we go. i decided to do a complete shell-off frame up restoration. it's the only way, in my opinion, and if you saw my frame, you'd agree! i tell ya, i have learned more with a pry bar and a saw in my airstream than anything i've read so far. i know a lot of you guys have done the complete shell-off restoration, and i wanted to run my plan by you all for feedback to hopefully steer me clear of any uncharted dangers!

here's my plan (i've already made it through the first couple of steps, but i'll put them in anyway for others).

1) remove complete interior cabinets, furniture... down to the bare shell.

2) remove 4 pieces of bannana moulding

3) drill out rivets connecting the belly pan to the body & drop pan

4) remove sub-floor (mine was so rotten, it practically pulled out by hand)

5) after i removed the subfloor, i had to use a cut-off disk to remove all the rusted bolts that held the floor on. (this is where i am with my '59 at the moment)

6) cut off all bolts from the shell to the frame.

7) build temporary bracing for the shell, once it's lifted (i plan to use x-bracing both vertically and laterally, with additional support along the body line of each side).

8) drill out rivets holding wheel-wells to body shell, and remove wells.

9) lift shell (with several friends and a jack?) above the frame and set on temporary saw horses.