Old 06-26-2010, 06:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Peasleeville , New York
Shell Off Help

So I know that there are about 20 of these threads, but I cant find the answer, and my intenet source involves hijacking wireless 20 miles from my construction site, so I am going to just ask, (be nice to me I am pretty new to this)
It seems that there is a metal plate in the front of my 31' '74 sovereign that is connecting the frame and the shell. There seem to be a series of rivets across the front holding the plate on. Do thes have to come off, or is there an easier way?

Old 06-26-2010, 06:53 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1960 24' Tradewind
Janesville , Iowa
I don't know about a 74 but my 60 need those rivets drilled out. I would not remove that plate as it give you a clear indicator where your front and center is in relationship to the frame.

Old 06-26-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Peasleeville , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by badger View Post
I don't know about a 74 but my 60 need those rivets drilled out. I would not remove that plate as it give you a clear indicator where your front and center is in relationship to the frame.
I would like to limit/eliminate steel touching the shell, galvanic issues seem to be a big issue on the health of the frame, what about replacing it with stainless, or alum plate?
Old 06-26-2010, 07:02 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbattin View Post
So I know that there are about 20 of these threads, but I cant find the answer, and my intenet source involves hijacking wireless 20 miles from my construction site, so I am going to just ask, (be nice to me I am pretty new to this)
It seems that there is a metal plate in the front of my 31' '74 sovereign that is connecting the frame and the shell. There seem to be a series of rivets across the front holding the plate on. Do thes have to come off, or is there an easier way?