Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-20-2015, 05:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Tukwila , Washington
Replacing my floor

I am an airstream newbie, so be gentle
I am gutting the entire interior of my 1973 land yacht
mostly to find and repair leaks, but also to upgrade wiring and insulation
Im wondering about replacing the floor plywood with treated
jerrypike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:38 PM   #2
King of the Zebra Speedo

Obrien , Florida
Don't use pressure treated, according to everything I've read on here. Supposedly the chemicals in the wood react with the aluminum and corrode it. Buy a good exterior grade plywood and coat the edges with epoxy or two to three coats of polyurethane paint (that's what I did on my '74). I figured if the original wood lasted 30+ years without any edge treatment, and REALLY crappy maintenance, my painted edge wood, with anal style maintenance ought to last the rest of my life.

Do lots of reading on here. Use the Google search function, and everything you're going to do has been covered extensively. If you have the vista view windows held in by a clip ring, I wrote up a "How to rebuild your vista view windows" thread...

Welcome to the forum. Hope we can be of some help...

-Red, still working on this thing...
Old 01-20-2015, 07:52 PM   #3
King of the Zebra Speedo

Obrien , Florida
The vista view rebuild thread is called "Rebuilding vista views and stacks in a '74 Sov"... Last post in it was back in 2013. Lots of great info and pictures in that one...

-Red, promoting his own threads...
Old 01-21-2015, 09:01 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Portsmouth , Virginia