Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-02-2007, 11:02 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Union , Kentucky
Send a message via AIM to Joe1261 Send a message via Yahoo to Joe1261
Partial Floor Replacement in 73 31' Soveriagn

Hello and Happy New Year.
Please forgive me I am a beginner, and I am trying to learn what to do and not to do. I was recently given a 1973 31' Sovereign Land yacht from my parents . I towed it from Florida to Kentucky. After removing the couch I noticed several areas on the floor that were rotten. I have removed the lower wall panels and found that the floor slides under the wall frames. I have read several of the posts and I am wondering if I need to remove the under belly sheetmetal to get to a few to the bolts that is holding the floor to the wall frame. Hopefully I am not getting into something over my head. I would like to do most of if not all the work myself. any and all help I could get I would apprciate ... Please help meeeeee!!!!!!
Joe1261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 12:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hello Joe1261 -- There are almost as many methods to repair as there are members. You seem to suggest the area is in the front only. First job is to address the source of water that caused the rot. A couple of floor repairs I have done are covered here and here. Argosy & Airstream were built just about alike. You will need to remove the perimeter trim (rubrail), banana wrap near your repair and drop some of the belly wrap. Re-use the curved corner banana wrap!