Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-04-2015, 08:30 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 29' Ambassador
Bethany , Oklahoma
Long-term Parking, bad stabilizers, old tires!?!

Newbie here. I'm looking to park my 1973 29'Ambassador for MONTHS at a time. The tires are road-worthy, but old! OF the original 4 stabilizers, only front-curbside and back-roadside stabilizers are there, but only the back one works. (front is very broken-off)

I'm thinking I'd like to use jacks (or jack stands??) in strategic places to take some pressure off the tires since i'm parking longer term. is that a good idea? where do i put the jacks? Do i need to remove the broken stabilizer?

Any input on this would be very helpful!
Old 02-04-2015, 08:47 AM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Stabilizers on an Airstream are just that, stabilizers. They are intended to keep the trailer from bouncing on the suspension while moving around. They are by no means intend to lift trailer weight off of the tires or or level the trailer.

The bottom line is that you do not need the stabilizers at all if the trailer movement doesn't bother you. Some folks never put their stabilizers down when camping.

You say the tires are old. How old are we talking? Once tires reach the ten year mark, it's not a good idea to take the trailer out on the road with them. You would be courting disaster.

You could use jacks to fill in for missing stabilizers. They should be placed in the same spot as the original stabilizers were. Using the jacks to take the weight off of the tires could result in torquing the frame and causing problems.

Brian