Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2013, 12:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Dallas , Texas
Frame specifications question - c / u channel?

Greetings!

I am building an airstream-style trailer from the ground up, and I have most of it designed, but I have yet to finalize the frame material/size specifications.

Does anyone have a link to info regarding the type of frame material, the sizing, and any guides on it? I see that C Channel and U Channel are often times used, in varying sizes and thicknesses. What would be a good standard size that is very strong but not excessively heavy? Would like to get a really good starting point for the sides, sub floor and roof as well.

Unfortunately, I am a designer without a lot of experience in trailer frames, I'm really interested to learn as much about this as possible, so even pointing me in the right direction would be much appreciated Thanks!
Albatrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 01:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
The two main frame rails are usually 5" tall Box beam or two C-channels welded together. There are rather thin cross members between the frame rails. On the outside of the frame rails are what we call outriggers that attach to the bottom of the wall C-channel. The floor is between the frame and the C-channel at the bottom of the walls. Airstreams are built with a rather weak connection between the frame and the shell. The main structural attachments are at the front and back of the trailer. The connections to the side walls are rather weak. The outriggers support the floor and keep the shell from changing shape.