Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-04-2018, 11:46 AM   #1

1978 31' Sovereign
Williams , Arizona
Frame Rust 1978 Sovereign 31"

Hello,
New to this website but looking for some general advice on the condition of our frame. I am not good with terms, but the two main frame bars from the fresh water (in middle) have rust damage on the bottom half. Pictured is the worst of it, about 2 feet of significant damage. Otherwise, there is about 1/2 in of rust running the length from the middle to the front of the trailer, but very hard and no holes. Other wise, the frame in the back has almost no rust, except for the grey and black water tank. The top of the frame looks fine, but the bottom (that supports the middle of the tanks) and the bottom half of the back (where the tanks connect to the piping leading out) have plenty of rust. Upon sending pictures to a welder, they told us that the frame may not be repairable at all. I have a second welder coming out to physically assess damage next week. Just wondering if our frame can be repaired with some significant welding, along with brushing, por 15, and being repainted for the rest. Thank you!

Tyler
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream Middle.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	289.1 KB
ID:	329129   Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream Tanks Bottom of main.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	311.9 KB
ID:	329130  

Name:	Airstream Tanks Full.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	554.2 KB
ID:	329131   Click image for larger version

Name:	Airstream Tanks Middle.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	433.8 KB
ID:	329132  

TGRIMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 01:08 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas