Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2011, 05:28 PM   #1

1973 27' Overlander
Canyon Lake , Texas
Unhappy Frame Failure

I just picked up a 1973 27' International for $100. The shell is in excellent condition. There are issues with hatch & door latches but nothing serious. The front windows have been broken out for years and the interior filled with junk/trash. After emptying it out, I attempted to jack the front end to level it out. As I jacked, the frame began to bend just to the rear of where the frame disappears under the front of the shell. Heavy flakes of rust appeared on the ground below the area that bent. Is this worth saving? I don't want to give up on it. My plan is to gut the interior, replace the floor and restore to a different, lighter design. Any experience with this type of frame failure and if there is a typical fix? I'm new to the airstream world so thanks in advance for any suggestions.
COMMENT: I'm seeing numerous websites, forums, you-tube, etc... on Airstream frame corrosion. Was there an issue with the metal they used or a lack of proper treatment? I'm restoring a 24' 1970 Yellowstone, had the entire floor removed and the frame was in great shape. (It was used in Northern Ohio)
dmm9623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 06:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1982 31' International
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Welcome to the forums!

There are several threads on rebuilding a mostly rotten frame or even building a new one from scratch. I guess the only question is how much work or money it is worth to the individual owner.