Old 08-12-2009, 12:14 PM   #1
banjobill

2000 30' Limited
battle ground, , Washington
flooring material

the more i read about replacing the floor, the more i think i should stay away from that. I do, however have a question for all of those who have found rotted floor BOARDS and replaced them: Did you consider any other material besides a wood product for the flooring? Seems to me that aluminum plate would not rot. Sure, you have the issue of using a combo drill/tap so you can use machine screws/bolts to attach any structural members, but rot, mildew, mold, etc should be ended with a non-wood product. I mentioned aluminum plate, but fibreglas, lexan, carbon fibre would all be suitable as well. Thoughts? Comments? This would seem to me to be most easily done on a body off rebuild, not a one piece at a time. But aluminum welding is easily within reach of AS'rs, today.
ol' bill

Old 08-12-2009, 12:29 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1971 29' Ambassador
Leonardtown , Maryland
I am not an expert on restorations but I have worked in the aircraft testing for over 40 years. The problem you may have with metal is that it will not flex. The trailer needs to have a degree of flexing to keep all the rivit and welded joints safe. Metal may be too firm and cause rivits and welds to crack and break. A wood subfloor will give and flex with normal movement of the trailer.
I do believe this is the reason for wood over metal.

Rebee - WBCCI #1325
2002 Classic Ltd 30'
2007 Dodge 2500, 6.7 Cummins
Rebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1955 22' Flying Cloud
Boulder Creek , California