Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2012, 07:44 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1979 31' Sovereign
Wabash , Indiana
Question Flooring idea, will this work better than plywood?

Shop DPI 3/16"D x 4'W x 8'H Brown Hardboard Wall Panel at Lowes.com

As everyone, looking for ideas on flooring that is more durable than the plywood. I have seen masonite/harboard for cake boards, and in garage areas for the pegboard walls. While I have little experience with it, it seems to last a long time, and when it gets when it only seems to leave stains, though I have not seen it when left in a constant wet/leaky area.

If a guy were to put a double layer of this product on the floor, do you think it would be a better alternative than plywood, or is it just not suitable in this application. Were still new at all this, and just throwing out an idea looking for constructive criticism.
Thanks!
CampUnger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
My experience with Masonite is it will crack very easily and if the surface is violated to allow water in it swells and becomes soft.

Not a good idea for a sub flooring

Marine plywood

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:55 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1979 31' Sovereign
Wabash , Indiana
enough said, thanks for the help!
Old 05-17-2012, 08:10 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1979 31' Sovereign
Wabash , Indiana
Coosa Board | Coosa Composites | Boat Decking Material

Thoughts anyone?? Expensive option I know, but so is constantly redoing a floor.
Old 05-17-2012, 08:19 AM   #5
2 Rivet Member

1979 31' Sovereign
Wabash , Indiana
The Cutting Board Factory: MarinaBoard

??
Old 05-17-2012, 08:26 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member

1979 31' Sovereign
Wabash , Indiana