Old 08-06-2018, 05:55 PM   #1

2007 28' International CCD
San Anselmo , California
FLOOR ROT - DESIGN DEFECT or bad luck?

06 28' Intl CCD Like many Airstream owners, I have a re-occurring floor rot problem. I am a residential architect and general contractor so I deal with water and leak issues all the time. In my profession, any leak that is not caused by the actions of the owner, is the responsibility of the builder and/or designer, for the lifetime of the building. I think the same rules should apply to Airstream, for their long history of leaks and floor rot. I just doesn't seem reasonable that a self-described FIRST CLASS company like Airstream should refuse to face, acknowledge and solve this problem.

One possible solution would be to use Coosa board instead of plywood for the floor structure. This product was created for the marine yacht industry and has similar structural and flex characteristics to plywood. Another owner researched it and found that using Coosa Board would add $1000 to the production cost of an Airstream. This seems reasonable since most floor repairs cost $4-10,000. Another solution would be to extend the warranty to 10-15 years and include floor rot as a covered item.

I had the curb side of my rear bedroom floor replaced for $3K. At the time the service tech said that water was entering the belly pan along the rub rail at the rear bumper storage compartment. That water was forming a lake in the pan that had no way to drain or evaporate. He sealed up the rub rail and sent me on my way. Here I am 5 years later, with the exact same problem on the driver's side. Another $3k or $10K to R&R the entire bedroom floor. It seems that the rub rail detail needs to be completely reworked.