Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-29-2016, 04:18 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

South , Alabama
Did I make right choice

I just passed on purchasing a 1991 Limited Classic 34' that's been sitting for 15 year. The interior was in great shape, body was in decent shape and wife could have really modernize interior with a little paint and flooring but the problem I had was with rear storage compartment rust. The rest of frame going forward seemed that it had just surface rust but without pulling the belly panels I wasn't sure so I didn't purchase. I have no experience in frame restoration or have the time but I feel I made a mistake and I was hoping more knowledgeable people could set my mind at ease. Btw they were selling it for only 12,000 here's a few pics

DougHeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 04:55 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

I think you answered your doubts by saying that you have no experience with frame restoration or time to work on it. I don't have much experience with trailers yet, but judging from the photos I wouldn't feel comfortable buying the trailer at any price without someone more experienced looking at it and giving me a good idea of what's involved in correcting the damage. I think you made the right decision. Enjoy the search!
StrmyWeather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 05:54 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
There are lots of 34' trailers for sale. Sitting unused for 15 years is a recipe for disaster. Better to spend the time and money up front to get a good trailer than to try to fix a poor one. Do not ask me how I know that, but I am pretty sure of it.
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 06:30 PM   #4
Rivet Master

My sister said…….

What ever decision you make….is the right one…..for you.

Then I went ahead and made a lot of bad choices.