Old 03-07-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Brooklet , Georgia
Axle lingo??

I am about to pull the trigger on a 77 airstream argosy 28' model. Not sure if we are allowed to speak of argosy's here? I am new to this and have only done home remodels so far and basic upkeep on an old fifth wheel we used to own. This will be a complete gut and renovation. My question is about all of the axle talk. Ya'll guys use some lingo about axles that i dont understand as of yet. Can someone give me the basics of what to look at on this one i am about to purchase on the axle portions only? Unloaded axles etc? Not sure what that means?
Duckgirl321

I have lusted after the airstreams for years, but this argosy is pretty cute. Or it will be at least!!

Old 03-07-2014, 08:08 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy 28
Irrigon , Oregon
They actually have a whole separate forum for argosy's. Click on the forums tab on top of the page, then trailers and scroll down to the argosy section. Lots of axle information there and in the technical section under "running gear". Good luck with the trailer. We also have a 77 28' model and love it.

Old 03-07-2014, 08:14 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Brooklet , Georgia
Ok, sorry about that!! Lemmo go find the Argosy people!! Thx!!
Old 03-08-2014, 04:42 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
1962 28' Ambassador
enosburg , Vermont