Old 09-05-2007, 09:15 PM   #1
1965 26' Overlander
Lizton , Indiana
Question Added Support For Frame Rear End

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting after months of viewing. I am in the beginning stages of a 26' 1965 Overlader restore. I am have the shell braced and suspended about few inches above the frame. Last week my friend came over and we fixed the frame in the rear end where the black tank is and we added 1/8 inch straps between the outriggers to attach the outer skin. The step were completly shot so we added new outriggers that will be used to house new steps (Elkhart Tool and Die Hide-A-Step #424).

I thought I was finished with the frame until I was walking around on the back and my firend noticed how much the frame moved. I onlyweigh 145 and the frame was moving cosiderable. I also noticed that the frame had given (sagged) an buckeled slightly at ther last section near the grey water tank.

I am considering adding additional channel or tubular steel reinforcement along the inside of the main 5" C channel frame members. I have apprx. 6.5 feet of frame overhanging from the rear axle. I was thinking about adding 12 feet of C channel to the main frame on the inside. This will go allthe way to the front of the first axle. In order to do this I was would have to cut out a portion of the cross member's side to allow the C channel or tubular steel to pass on the side of the main frame rails. Then I would level the entire frame and jack up the rear end slighlty above level and weld in the C channel support.

Please let tme know what is the best way to add additional support for the rear end.

Thank you,

I have tried to attach some pictures of the frame repair ( not that relevent to question but fun to look at).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FrameDescr.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	400.3 KB
ID:	44479   Click image for larger version

Name:	NewStepSupport.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	448.2 KB
ID:	44480  

Click image for larger version