Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Repairing/Replacing Floor &/or Frame
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-08-2014, 09:13 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 23' Safari
San Antonio , Texas
A heartbreaking first start: '69 Safari

I have my first airstream and I should be ecstatic about it but, before I even stepped foot inside, it was resold out from under me, admittedly.

My Mom and Stepdad looked at it twice on my behalf as, I was living in Brooklyn and it was close to their home in San Antonio, where I was going to relocate for the summer so I could finally build out my dream of a mobile fashion truck (I had been dreaming of this for the last 4 years of my life...and saving for it).

I texted and spoke with the seller, my stepdad even new her from years ago as, her daughter use to be one of my stepdad's tenants. She was very friendly and all that jazz. I flew in from NY for a week to go with my Grandpa to pick up the airstream and she informed me she would be out of town for a week for her daughters wedding and that we should NOT go by the house because there were a lot of break-ins recently and the neighbors would call the cops if any suspicious behavior were to occur. (I should have seen the red flag...she had already re-sold it).

I wished her congratulations on a wedding and said, I had to fly back to Brooklyn (deflated) and that my Mom and Grandpa would come the following Saturday to pick it if that was ok? She said yes.