Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2006, 10:52 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Everett , Washington
1972 Overlander Frame Question

Hi, I'm a new owner of a 1972 Overlander. I'm going to be doing a shell-off restoration and complete rearranging of the floor plan. The rearranging of the floor plan is necessary to accommodate my wife and 6 young children. Not enough beds in the original floor plan.

I want to move the bathroom from the rear to the side. I'm guessing that I will have to move the black water tank. But as I'm new to this I'm not sure. While I'm fixing up the frame I will probably go ahead and add a grey water tank.

Does anyone here have any experience with this? Will I have to move frame members? Any information or recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Derek
Derek D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 11:27 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Hi Derek, Welcome to the forums.

I don't have any experience with a frame off restore, but there are a lot of previous threads on this. Using the search function do a search for "full monte" or "Frame off". you should find lots of great info. There are folks here who have posted their step by step progress, problems they ran into and lessons learned. Good luck.
Dave
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 11:05 AM   #3
Airstreamin' in Canada

1973 27' Overlander
Waterdown , Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek D
Hi, I'm a new owner of a 1972 Overlander. I'm going to be doing a shell-off restoration and complete rearranging of the floor plan. The rearranging of the floor plan is necessary to accommodate my wife and 6 young children. Not enough beds in the original floor plan.