Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-14-2013, 11:46 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1979 28' Ambassador
Cave Springs , Arkansas
Newbie Questions

After picking up our 79 Ambassador in a blinding rainstorm, about the only advice that was given to us was "lock" the door. Four hours later, we safely made it home, almost 200 miles plus. We bought the beautiful unit but without any knowledge of RV's. I fell in love with the Airstream design, look, appearance and waited nearly three years before I found the one I wanted.

The "book" or manual that came with the unit is very general, lots of schematics, but few, if any "how-to-do its."

So, questions:

a) Is the exterior power only 220 volts?
b) What is the safe and sanitary way to dump the waste (in an RV dumpsite obviously) I've never done this before and there is no external hose on this unit. Do RV dump sites have connecting hoses or do I go purchase one?
c) Parts. We'll want to replace a few. The 30 year old unit needs some TLC on the interior, but is in otherwise pristine condition. Is there a recommended parts supplier on-line.
d) the unit only has one 12 volt battery, I know I'll need to get another one. I am assuming it's a deep cycle marine type battery. Is there a preferred battery for this unit.

I needed a hobby and now I have one. Looks like I'll be permanently busy.

Thanks for any and all help/assistance.

Beartooth
Beartooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beartooth View Post