Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-21-2003, 02:25 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

What is "dealer prep"?

Just got word our 16CCD will be coming out of factory around the 30th, then shipped to dealer in B.C. I am a novice, here - this is my first trailer. What should I expect of the dealer in terms of preparation and a briefing on use? With all the QC issues lately, I plan on telling them to go to extremes. Should I expect them to install the hitch (I'm prob. buying an Equal-i-zer), or the brake controller? Should they purge and fill propane tanks? Mints on the pillows? What?
frozen chosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 02:40 PM   #2

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
It really depends on your dealer. My Safari was Walbernized, all plastic on the carpet was removed, unit interior was clean, water tank was filled, A/C was on, tire pressures were checked, LP tanks were filled, we were supplied a new water hose and sewer hose, unit was leveled for an overnight stay at the dealer's, a bottle of champaign was in the cold refrigerator. We had almost 2 hours of instruction going through everything on the trailer.

The dealer did install my dual cam sway control (I had it written into our agreement).

Jack
AIR #56 S/OS#15
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 02:49 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 28' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Colorado Springs , Colorado
Exclamation Burn in the furnace!!!!

Frozen, See my post on the furnace sets off smoke alarm. The dealer (really the factory?) should do this on their propane and time.
Enjoy,
Ken