Old 12-16-2007, 10:12 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1968 17' Caravel
Las Vegas , Nevada
The Hunt is on! Need advice!

New to the Idea of trailer camping (way too many hotels without a view), we are a family of 3. My tow vehicle is a 2005 Ford F-150 Supercab 4x4 5.4 liter. I love the nostalgia of the older Airstreams and have been eagerly reading and searching for them. I am a finish carpenter by trade so buying a fixer upper has always been an attractive option. I would prefer to stay 22 feet or less. I looked at newer model airstreams this weekend (2000 models and newer) and my question is how much more practical are the newer models ease of use, safety, as far as towing etc. I live in Las Vegas so we would be traveling hundereds of miles any direction to go anywhere, through mountain ranges and so on. Any input/advice would be greatly appreciated. thank you!!!

Are there any trailer rallies that take place that anyone can attend??

Nextlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 10:22 AM   #2
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast

1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Hi and welcome. Looks like you're showing early signs of aluminitus and be warned, there is no cure. As for me, I like the vintage units, they have so much character and personality. Plus they're just plain sexy. Being a finish carpenter, I can forsee a vintage unit in your future where you redo the interior to your family's camping needs.

As for trailer rallies where anyone can attend, the Four Corners Unit has a number of rallies planned throughout the southwest where one can come and check us out. We would welcome you to the potluck as well. This would give you the opportunity to see some vintage as well as newer units and compare.

4CU 2699 / AIR 10 / TAC AZ-1

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 11:15 AM   #3
Rivet Master
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Suburbia , Sunny So Cal
Hi and welcome!