Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2010, 12:57 PM   #1

San Francisco , California
Newbie - want to buy, scared by rust, lots of questions...

Hey guys!

I guess I must be looking for a project, because I'm considering buying a vintage airstream (60s, 70s, not too big - 17'-21') to do a full interior renovation on. I think it would be really fun to gut out the interior and rebuild it into my traveling basecamp. I'm an engineer/product designer, quite handy, and have access to a pretty decent set of tools/shop space.

I've been doing some research, and it looks like frame rust is a fairly common issue... On top of that, it's hard to detect without poking holes in the trailer, which is hard before a purchase. I don't really have any desire/patience to do a frame rebuild, remove the shell from the floor, or any of that. Ideally, I would want a trailer in good structural shape that I can just gut the interior of and rebuild.

The possibility of running into a rusty frame is a big turnoff. Am I worrying too much? Is there anything I can do prior to the purchase to make sure the frame is going to last another 20 years without extra work? Are California airstreams less rust-prone?

Just fyi, here's one near me that I'm thinking of checking out: 1969 AIRSTREAM 21' GLOBETROTTER

Also, I'd like to spend about $15k total to complete the project. I'm willing to do lots of labor, just not major structural work like pulling the shell off or rebuilding a frame.

Thanks!

Frankie
fbrahic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 22' Safari
Hyde Park Place , Ohio