Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-27-2011, 04:57 PM   #1

Henderson , Nevada
Looking for some veteran advice...

I am new to Airstreams. I own a classic car (68 Mustang convertible) so I know that the classics need TLC and I am willing to put it into an Airstream.
My husband and I have thought and thought about finding an Airstream, working on it, and potentially living in it full time. We will spend a lot of time on the road touring with my husband's band and would like to spend the winters somewhere warm. With that said, we just started earenstly looking and found this in the local Craigslist ads:1978 Argosy (Airstream)
Went to visit it today and of course I loved it. A 1979 Argosy priced at $3500. Here's the background:
Purchased at Boulder Highway RV in 1978, parked at Lake Mead campground for 30 years, purchased by this gentleman in 2008. He bought new tires, wheels, and repaired electrical and plumbing. Interior is decent, could use a good scrubbing. Original appliances are gone, though the rolladex cabinets are intact and in nice shape. Windows are all intact (none broken) and apparently all apparatus works. Hitch was new with electric brake hook up. Owner has take in out only a few times, but said it worked well. Apparently this model has no axle. Minimum exterior damage. What do you think Airstream vets?
Rosy68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 05:17 PM   #2
x

XXXX , XXXX