Old 09-21-2006, 07:07 PM   #1
Mom scared by aluminum

Currently Looking...
Phoenix , Arizona
Looking at a Flying Cloud

Hi,
I'm starting to look at purchasing a Vintage Airstream for restoration and have an appointment to look at a 1963 Flying Cloud next week. Wonder if someone could just give me a list of the top things to look for.

I expect it will be a lot of work, I just want to avoid getting something that's basically unfixable.

Old 09-21-2006, 07:38 PM   #2
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast

1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Hi dmaiden ~

Although I'm not an expert on this particular model, I can offer advise on what to look for on trailers of this vintage. First would be the floor. Check around the entry door, under the windows, toilet and sinks. Open the cabinets and check out the flooring there too. Verify all of the windows are glass and the hardware is in place. Inspect the top vents to see if they're present and keeping out rain. Check out the appliances. Look over the A frame and bumper for rust, surface is OK - rusted completely through is not. Stand on the back bumper and see if it feels solid. Look underneath and check for holes in the belly skin. Holes would be an indication of repair work on the waste water plumbing. Verify if it has a black and/or grey water tank. Don't worry about the soft goods, i.e.: mattresses, drapes, carpet. These you'll more than likely want to change to your own personal taste anyway. If you have access to a digital camera, take lots of pictures and post them. You'll get amazing insight from others on this forum.

If you haven't already, check out the archive page of RJ's website for '63 Flying Cloud's. Familiarize yourself with both the Ohio and CA made units ahead of time. Here's the link:

www.vintageairstream.com/archives/63FC/63FC.html

If I can assist with the inspection, let me know.

Brad
FF

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote