I'm looking for a fully restored 1960's model and I found one there that I like, except it is in NC, I am in Chicago. They advertise shipping anywhere in the World, does anyone have experience with purchasing and shipping long distance?
My beware is in reference to not buying any trailer you have not seen personally. I have had no experience personally with Vintage-Airstream.com nor do I know anyone who has.
There is currently a little fight over the control of the WBCCI forums section of the WBCCI.ORG website. Greg, who owns Vintage - Airstream, got control of the site, others do not like it. Greg now uses that forum to advertise (for free) the trailers he and his subscribers have for sale. In addition to the units he owns he also sells a one month ad on the WBCCI/forum and Vintage Airstream site to anyone for $30. I can not attest to his business dealings. He did file grievances with the WBCCI leadership to try to threaten/silence his opponents. Opponents hope that WBCCI leadership wakes up to what Greg is doing and how it hurts the club's reputation and cancels the club's relationship with Greg.
Bought our '68 Overlander from Greg in 2005. Our experience was very positive. Trailer was as advertised. I was off this forum for a while, so I didn't follow all of the WBCCI forum's controversy. I'm not a club member so it dosen't mean much to me. I would do business with him again if I needed to.
The WBBCI aspect is just frosting on the cake. I have had contact on a few occasions and will never again. Too bad that a great Airstream refurbishing company has a link....marketing only....they are fine. Find an owner/seller and deal direct.