Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Buyer Guidelines
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-20-2013, 02:39 PM   #1

Raleigh , North Carolina
Buying Sight Unseen

Hi,

I'm new to the airstream community. My husband and I have been really excited about the idea of restoring an airstream 22 or smaller made in the 50s or 60s. We have found one from mark the airstream guy? Anyone recognize this? He has a website and has a 22 flying cloud for sale. We are in North Carolina and would have to buy site unseen (aside from pictures). Does anyone have advice on ? or personal experience to share? Thanks!
skjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 02:52 PM   #2

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
There is always a risk to buying sight-unseen. Depending on how much money is involved, it might be worth flying to see a trailer you believe may be The One so you don't invest a day or two into driving across country when you haven't even inspected the trailer yet. There's a powerful temptation to "buy it anyway" if you've driven 2 days to fetch it, where you might make a different decision if you already have a return flight and will have to come back with a tow vehicle at a later date. If it's really a good buy, it'll be worth driving back to get it. If it's an iffy thing, it's easier to choose to wait for a better one.

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 02:52 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 28' International
Currently Looking...
New Orleans , Louisiana