Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2016, 10:16 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2016 25' International
Atlanta , Georgia
Buying Help: Advice from International 23D, 23FB and 22" Sport Owners :)

Hi!
My hubby and I are planning on getting our first airstream (gasp!) and we would like some help from veterans. We are young couple looking to travel in our airstream for 3 months a year in the summer and maybe some more weekend/ week trips in addition. We plan on having the two of us (small people) and our two medium sized dog travel across the country, hike everything and go to every national park available.We will be working remotely from laptops a few hours a day and doing outdoors things the rest. When not in use, we will park it in our backyard to rent out. We will be traveling from Atlanta to the PNW and back- (read: much traveling) Being complete novices at towing, we wanted something compact and efficient but also want to have this thing for the foreseeable future without needing to upgrade in size. We will have to sell one car and buy a TV so thats not an issue. Prob get a tow capacity of 7,500 lbs, V8, plan to have a small amount of extra storage in car.

We are considering International 23D and 23FB and the Bambi Sport 22FB. We don't really care for the styling of the Flying Clouds. The sport is lighter and more narrow which we think will be easier to maneuver in mountainous terrain specifically PNW and Canadian Rockies, but is it really that much harder to tow a 23"? Does the double axel really help stability? Im leaning toward the 23D because the layout gives us a bit of a 'living room' as well as the dinette and I like all the plush accommodations since we will be in it 3 months at a time. Thoughts?
Bambii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 10:39 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 25' International
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...