Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2003, 09:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Airstream vs. Avion

I am a travel trailer novice and I have been looking for Airstreams for a few months now. During my search, I have come across info on Avions and the '73 to '79 Avions really appeal to me. There are a few good informational sites on Avion too.

So far, I haven't been forced to decide what I'll buy, simply because there are very few Airstream or Avion units being offered in Minnesota.

Question: Are Airstreams better than Avions?

Zettervall
Princeton, Mn
Zettervall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 09:37 PM   #2
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64
While the membership here is 98% airstream owners we all think the all aluminum constructed trailers are cool. The "better" issue is one that comes up once in a while and while I have no information as to construction and strength or longevity, many of the avions are still around. The thing to consider is if you will be able to purchase model spefic parts. Alot of the parts are still available for the Airstream Vintage units. On the Avion ones most of the available parts seem to come from donor coaches, that supply is finite.

Just some food for thought.

BTW you wont get the advantage of the WBCCI or the VAC with the Avion. Both are a resource like this forum that can enhance the enjoyment of the Airstream if you go that route.
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato

thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 06:09 AM   #3
Airstream Driver

1994 30' Excella
1992 35' Airstream 350
Austin , Texas