Old 01-18-2008, 09:52 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

orange , California
advise for a 62 safari

Hi, I'm new to this and in the process of purchasing a 62 safari. It does not have ANY holding tanks. Was re-plumbed and I guess they thought they would only use hookups so they didn't put back the holding the black tank. There is no battery and no water heater. Needs new propane tanks as well. otherwise it is in great shape. price is $7,000. Any thoughts ?

Old 01-18-2008, 09:59 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
Thoughts....

Don't even consider it....for that price. You can do MUCH better.

Old 01-18-2008, 10:02 AM   #3
Mel
Rivet Master

1967 22' Safari
1960 Caravel
Edmonds , Washington
My thought is that $7,000 seems high for a trailer that is missing so many important parts. How is the axle? Do the remaining LP appliances work? I'd also be wary of the plumbing job that removed all of the tanks. At the start, you'd need to put in a couple thousand dollars just to fix what the PO did. I'd keep shopping...
Old 01-18-2008, 10:11 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Eureka , California
EEEK.... I agree- that's too much to pay for so much missing - and that's only what you know about now, wait till you get into it...$$$$$$!

"If you want something done right, do it yourself!"
sequoiacoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 10:19 AM   #5
Rivet Master

1967 28' Ambassador
1963 19' Globetrotter
1970 29' Ambassador
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Take a look at RJ Dial'sPrice vs Condition write-up. It will give you a realistic view of what you should pay based on the condition of the trailer you are looking at.

Unless this trailer is pristine other than the missing items I would not pay any more than $3000 for it.
http://byamcaravanner.blogspot.com/
byamcaravanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 10:20 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member

1965 22' Safari
Currently Looking...