Airstream Chat Room Airstream Links Campground & Product Reviews Airstream Classifieds Airstream Articles Blogs Photo Gallery Forum Listings Portal - Home Page

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Title, VIN & Registration




Find out what's going on and meet up with other Airstreamers in your area through our Clubs & Groups Directory.

Quick Links
- Forum Listings
- Register - it's FREE!
- View Member's Map
- Airstream Articles
- "Live" Chat Room
- View Classifieds
- Post a Classified
- Airstream @ eBay
- Upcoming Rallies
   - Add A Rally
- Rally Discussions
- Repair Discussions
- Search Forums
- Member List
- AIR # Directory
- Member Search
- Profile Photos
- Airstream Photo
- Airstream Links
- Fun & Games
- WBCCI Websites
- WBCCI Unit Forums
- Courtesy Parking
- Campgrounds
- Support & FAQs
- Community Policies
- Helpers Needed




Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 12:10 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
Profile:  1961 19' Globetrotter
1959 18' "Footer"
santa cruz , California
Posts: 99

Scam alert

this trailer on ebay is a scam 1954 Airstream Flying Cloud
i reported it to ebay but they say it will take up to 48hrs to get an answer..hopefully before the auction ends!
greenrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 04:28 PM   #2
aluminauti

 
whitelight's Avatar
Profile:  Where we , Park it!
Posts: 261
Images: 5

Success!

eBay just pulled this listing!

Another Scammer foiled!

Guess my question to seller RE viewing this item will go unanswered!
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:34 AM   #3
Rivet Master

 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
Profile:  1966 17' Caravel
1995 21' Sovereign
1947 22' Liner
Valley View , Texas
Posts: 1,231
Images: 42

Nothing ads up here

I know this Globetrotter...it should be in Michigan (I think), the price is all wrong for what it is, buyer caveats are RED FLAG, It just is not right.

EBAY 120476305041

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1967-...=p4506.c0.m245
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:41 AM   #4
aluminauti

 
whitelight's Avatar
Profile:  Where we , Park it!
Posts: 261
Images: 5

just asked the "real" account owner, via eBay messaging (NOT the email in RED) if he had some interior pictures of "his" trailer that he could post.

Noted the the owner of account just recently purchased some items, so hopefully he'll be responsive one way or the other to my request!
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:55 AM   #5
Well-Preserved

 
overlander63's Avatar

Profile:  1974 31' Sovereign
. , .
Posts: 14,532

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch View Post
I know this Globetrotter...it should be in Michigan (I think), the price is all wrong for what it is, buyer caveats are RED FLAG, It just is not right.

EBAY 120476305041

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1967-Airstream-Globetrotter_W0QQitemZ120476305041QQcmdZViewItemQQ ptZRVs_Campers?hash=item1c0cf28691&_trksid=p4506.c 0.m245
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelight View Post
just asked the "real" account owner, via eBay messaging (NOT the email in RED) if he had some interior pictures of "his" trailer that he could post.

Noted the the owner of account just recently purchased some items, so hopefully he'll be responsive one way or the other to my request!
I also sent a report to Ebay.
__________________
Terry

(No Longer at Inland RV)
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 06:57 PM   #6
Rivet Master

 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
Profile:  1966 17' Caravel
1995 21' Sovereign
1947 22' Liner
Valley View , Texas
Posts: 1,231
Images: 42

He is gone

I guess Ebay removed him.

Interesting to me is the timing of the ad. It was placed close to a week end with a time limit to buy which would limit any checking and validating checks changing hands. No chance to recover on a rush purchase or check phoney checks. I hope there are savy folks out there who won't bite on these too good to be true ads.
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 09:33 AM   #7
Rivet Master

 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
Profile:  1966 17' Caravel
1995 21' Sovereign
1947 22' Liner
Valley View , Texas
Posts: 1,231
Images: 42

Here is another new SCAM (I think)

2005 Airstream Safari LS QB 28`:eBay Motors (item 200391168933 end time Oct-07-09 20:29:38 PDT)


Its not 4800 dollars and not from Nigeria....but the same type "contact me first...outside EBAY" is there.
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 12:48 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member

 
MG911's Avatar
Profile:  2005 28' Safari
Saskatoon , Sk.
Posts: 73
Images: 4

The auction didn't meet my 'reserve price' but the highest bidder contacted me and we worked out a deal after the auction closed.

I never thought about the hijacked thing...I was wondering how he got such good feedback. Why don't you outbid my $50,000 and see how high we can get this before it gets yanked??!

Anyway, the real buyers are coming up from Seattle this week. We'll be sad to see our baby go but I have a feeling it will be in good hands.
Mike
MG911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:09 AM   #9
aluminauti

 
whitelight's Avatar
Profile:  Where we , Park it!
Posts: 261
Images: 5

Hey Mike - glad that your baby is going to a good home!

Seems like this guy tried to hijack another listing last week for a vintage airstream- his listing on the other hijacked account was for only 3 days - in the eBay world, it can often take 48 hours to pull a listing. So, this scammer is hoping, with a short period to sell, that he can fly under the eBay policy radar.

There are a lot of gullible people out there who are looking for the deal of the century - they're the fodder for the scammers. At least with Airstreamers, there's a healthy community that keeps an eye on what's for sale on eBay, looking for the real deal.

We have a watch on this, so if not pulled by tomorrow morning, we will enter into a bidding war with you
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:26 AM   #10
Well-Preserved

 
overlander63's Avatar

Profile:  1974 31' Sovereign
. , .
Posts: 14,532

I emailed the person that really has the account, since I know him, and have purchased stuff from him before. It's a small world, and I know he doesn't own a Mac (.me email addy in the listing).
__________________
Terry

(No Longer at Inland RV)
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:50 AM   #11
Rivet Master

 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
Profile:  1966 17' Caravel
1995 21' Sovereign
1947 22' Liner
Valley View , Texas
Posts: 1,231
Images: 42

This guy never stops...

1967 Airstream Globetrotter on eBay.ca (item 260487582122 end time 11-Oct-09 21:11:49 EDT)
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:08 PM   #12
Aluminating
Profile:  Currently Looking...
Hamilton , Ohio
Posts: 1

I must have won that one with my $42K bid. Plus it includes free shipping.
Santa2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:47 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member

 
Airstream01's Avatar

Profile:  2008 25' Safari FB SE
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Posts: 129

I just bid $49k, its now at $49.1k.
Airstream01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 11:24 AM   #14
aluminauti

 
whitelight's Avatar
Profile:  Where we , Park it!
Posts: 261
Images: 5

Oh Pooh! I just when into my eBay to put a $60K bid on this 2005 Safari trailer & found the listing gone!


Glad to see eBay finally pulled the listing - yes, Terry, this is a small world, especially in the Airstream community!

Mike - all the best with the "real" sale of your trailer - be sure to invite the new owners to the forums!
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn: Dealers & Sellers, EMAIL SCAM ALERT NeatAirstream The Vendor's Forum 2 03-10-2008 04:17 PM
Scam alert....right here at home!! Melody Ranch Off Topic Forum 15 02-15-2008 12:50 AM
Flamingo alert! yukionna Off Topic Forum 17 05-02-2005 08:42 AM
Hantavirus Alert! jjonesnc Off Topic Forum 17 04-06-2005 09:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.

eXTReMe Tracker

Other recommended RV/Travel Trailer sites:
Airstream Classifieds - Airstream Central - Airstream Photos - Fiberglass RV Forum - iRV2 RV Forum

© copyright 2002-2009 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.