Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2014, 01:47 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Think you Cannot Afford a 'New(er)' Airstream?

Many years ago I worked in the banking industry. In my current business (telephone answering service) I have a lot of clients who are small entrepreneurs.

One of the fundamental things that I have learned is that many people get into big trouble because they don't understand the basics about money management.

I could easily exceed the max size limit for a single post just covering the basics - so instead I'll cover everything BUT getting an Airstream with a lick and a promise. Basically money is not magic, and comes in finite amounts. 50% of all lottery winners go bankrupt because their new spending habits exceed their new wealth - just like their old ones exceeded their former income. You can't have everything. No matter how much money you get you'll always need to know the difference between "WANT" and "NEED" and "REALLY NEED". You really need to have basic food, basic clothing and a safe place to sleep. Beyond that a way to pay for medical care and education is pretty darned important. Having a couple of thousand in the bank just for stuff that hits the fan, also vital.

It's very easy to get far too acquisitive. Do you have seven big screen TV's - thousands of dollars in sound systems, pay for Sirius when you could just plug in your Ipod in the car, have a $100,000 super kitchen and rarely cook in it, own more than 30 pairs of shoes, collect Rolexes and coins, and Japanese art, and and and and.... Uh. You've got too much stuff and an Airstream will add to the problem not cure it. (Unless of course you're selling off all but one of your collections to get the Airstream.)