Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Dollars & Cents > Trailer Values
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-18-2013, 08:00 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1989 25' Excella
Austin , Texas
Trailer Quality and Value

I am just beginning my quest to become an Airstream owner, and was wanting to know if there were certain years or eras which produced a superior product than others for Airstream?
PAL07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Hi, and welcome to the forums!

This is one of those "age old" questions for which there are several discussion threads. Try searching for "broken frame" and "cracked frame" and you can see some of the known frame issues with some trailers built since 2000. Try also searching for "corrosion on new trailers," "Quality and workmanship" and the like to see complaints about relatively recent purchases of newer models.

Trailers built since 1969 are prone to "rear end separation" due to leaks and the shape of the body. All trailers are prone to floor rot due to leaks. At the end of the day, it comes down to the individual trailer--you might find a fairly new trailer that has a completely rotten floor, or a 60's vintage trailer that has spent its life in a garage, and is in relatively good shape. It is very important that you get a good education on how to do a thorough inspection of a trailer before you buy (checklists are available on the forum as well).

Good luck!
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:52 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2003 25' Safari
Las Vegas , Nevada
Trailer Value and Quality